© 2005-2019 by Dr. Carl A. Welliver, DD, PhD & STOP-N-GO Driving Academy, All Rights Reserved. Proudly created with Wix.com

In The News:

 

Although this article is somewhat dated the information contained herein is still extremel useful and every parent and teen preparing to get a Massachusetts Driver's License  should be aware of its contents.

 

September 30, 2010

New Cell Phone and Texting Law Takes Effect in Massachusetts

 

The Safe Driving Law becomes effective in Massachusetts on September 30, 2010. The law creates a series of new violations, which the RMV Division, MassDOT IT staff and the Merit Rating Board are working to program and implement.

 

These new violations include:

 

1.Ch 90/8M- Use of a Mobile Phone or Mobile Electronic Device by a Junior Operator


Civil Offense- No Surcharge (Mobile electronic device includes mobile telephone, text messaging device, paging device, PDA, laptop computer, electronic equipment capable of playing video games or video disks or can take/transmit digital photographs or can receive a television broadcast. Mobile electronic device does not include any equipment permanently or temporarily installed to provide navigation, emergency assistance or rear seat video entertainment. Reporting an emergency is the only exception. Drivers are encouraged to pull over and stop the vehicle to report the emergency.)

 

  • 1st offense-$100, 60 day license suspension & attitudinal course

  • 2nd offense-$250, 180 day suspension

  • 3rd or subs offense-$500, 1 year suspension

 

 

2.Use of a Mobile Phone by a Public Transport Motor Vehicle Operator Civil Offense-No insurance surcharge

  • $500 assessment each offense

 

 

3.Use of a Mobile Phone by a Public Transport Non-Motor Vehicle Operator Civil Offense-No insurance surcharge (MBTA Trolley)

  • $500 assessment each violation

 

 

4.Improper Use of a Mobile Phone by Operators 18 and Over
Civil Offense-No insurance surcharge (One hand must be on the steering wheel at all times and no use of device can interfere with driving)

  • 1st offense-$35 assessment

  • 2nd offense in 12 months-$75 assessment

  • 3rd offense in 12 months-$150 assessment

 

 

5.Sending/Reading Text Messages
Civil Offense-No insurance surcharge (Operators cannot use any mobile telephone or handheld device capable of accessing the Internet to write, send, or read an electronic message including text messages, emails, and instant messages or to access the Internet while operating a vehicle. Law applies even if the vehicle is stopped in traffic.)

  • 1st offense-$100

  • 2nd offense-$250

  • 3rd or subs offense-$500

 

 

6.Negligent Operation & Injury from Mobile Phone Use
Criminal Offense- Insurance surcharge



JOL Suspensions
 

  • 1st offense-180-day suspension

  • 2nd or subsequent offense within 3 years-1 year suspension

  • $500 reinstatement fee
     

Over-18 suspensions

  • 1st offense-60-day suspension

  • 2nd or subsequent offense within 3 years-1 year suspension

  • $500 reinstatement fee
     

Additional Suspensions

The law repeals the current suspension for 5-surchargeable incidents in a 3-year period and replaces it with a new suspension for 3 surchargeable incidents in 2 years. Violations with an incident date on or after 9/30/2010 can be factored into the new suspension calculation. However, older violations will still be considered a basis for operators that accrue 7 surchargeable incidents. Similar to the current suspension process for 5 surchargeable incidents, operators will have 90 days from the suspension notice to complete a National Safety Council course to avoid going into suspension.

 

EXAMPLE: An operator receives a citation on October 1, 2010 and is cited for 3 offenses on the ticket: speeding, failure to yield, and a marked lane violation.Under the new law, this driver will receive a notice that they must complete the NSC course in 90 days or have his/her license suspended until completion of the class.
 

Elder Driving Provisions


License applicants, either for initial licensure in Massachusetts or license renewal, age 75 and older must conduct the transaction in a RMV office. Use of the Internet for license renewals will no longer be allowed for these applicants. All applicants, regardless of age, that obtain or renew a license in a branch office are required to undergo the RMV vision test that is given to all drivers or provide a vision screening certificate from an appropriate health care provider to complete the transaction.

 

Medical Fitness Reporting


Health care providers and law enforcement may report operators they believe are not physically or mentally capable of safely operating a vehicle due to cognitive of functional impairment

 

  • May request RMV to seek medical evaluation of operator

  • Requests can’t be based on operator age or solely on diagnosis of condition or impairment-it must be based on the effect either has on the ability to drive safely

  • Good faith belief of impairment based on-

    • Personal observation

    • Physical evidence

    • Law enforcement investigation

  • RMV must review report within 30 days of receipt

 

The RMV must promulgate regulations based on recommendations from the RMV Medical Advisory Board designating cognitive or functional impairments likely to affect an individual’s ability to operate.

 

Public Awareness Campaign


The law requires the RMV to work with EOPSS Highway Safety Division to implement a public awareness campaign for junior operators and adults. Campaign must start by January 1, 2011.

 

The campaign is to include, but not be limited to:

  • Dangers and consequences of distracted driving

  • Information on restrictions of cell phones and electronic devices while driving

  • Information on fines and punishments

 

 

 

Contact Info:

 

Main Office:

 

Contact Information:

 

Dr. Carl Welliver, DD, PhD - Administrator

Kaitlin (Welliver) Connors - Branch Manager

38 Montvale Ave, Suite 205  (Box C-8)

Stoneham, MA 02180

Tel:        781.245.2300 Extension 1

EMail:   carl@sngda.com

To cancel a Stoneham Branch driving lesson less than 24 hours in advance: 857.236.0236

 

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now